WordPress.com extremely slow

Posted: October 14, 2006 in Web Wise

Is it only me? Or is WordPress.com extremely slow for everybody? All the time. When I click on the link to write a new post it takes no less than 2 to 3 minutes to finally get the Write Post screen. It has always been like that for me. It isn’t my connection, which is broadband. And it isn’t the WordPress software because I use WordPress installed on my own server for some of the blogs in my vast empire of blogs and I never see these kind of delays. It is only when trying to do something with this blog, my little doodle blog for some of the stuff that doesn’t belong in my super cutting edge and top secret blogs.

Comments
  1. Jared says:

    It’s not just you. WordPress.com has some serious speed issues.

  2. it wasnt always slow for me but lately is very sluggish. any solutions yet?

  3. SAB says:

    ok, so this issue is common to everyone? I was about to call my ISP and yell at them for reducing the speed without prior notice 😉

    I hope they find a solution to this asap. It’s getting annoying!

  4. Bryant Tan says:

    Very slow for me as well – just posted a new blog post and it took about a minute. Contrast with wordpress.org code running on my really slow (old Dell Optiplex) server – about a second.

    I googled for “wordpress.com slow” and this was on the front page of Google – says it all really. So it’s not just me after all.

  5. […] bisa jadi ya?! Sebab ternyata tidak hanya saya yang mengalami hal ini. Forum WordPress.com, dan Geomark misalnya, juga mengalami hal […]

  6. cynllunefe says:

    I’m having the same problem – whenever I try to edit something on my website, it simply does not load properly and won’t allow me to insert photos or anything. Haven’t been able to update anything for a while now and have done all that support have advised me without any change aaaaaaahhhhhhhh!

  7. kinimod says:

    sluggish is the least to say. dont make fun.

  8. Cynthia says:

    I’m on dial-up. Normally, WordPress.com is fine. Or at least it was when I started this new blog in October. Actually, I thought it was fast, compared to other sites!

    But the past couple of days it has been EXTREMELY SLOW! It’s taking 5-10 minutes to load my add post page, or save a draft or publish something. Really, to do anything on my blog is a major pain at the moment.

    Other sites are performing as usual, so it’s not the fact that I’m on slow dial-up.

  9. henfre says:

    I have to second just about all of these replies. It’s been running fine, but lately its gotten very slow and someone uncomfortable as a result. Hopefully they’ll get it fixed sometime soon.

  10. dotlassie says:

    And it is still slow 🙂

Leave a Reply

