Expansion of 73MW solar PV plant in Thailand

Posted: March 13, 2011 in Thailand

I posted a while ago about the 73 MW solar PV plant being built in Lopburi. At the time that was the world’s largest solar PV installation. Not sure if that is still true. However, I just read that the plant will be expanded.

EGCO, the second largest private power producer in Thailand, is going to invest one billion baht to expand the plant to 84 MW. One billion baht is quite a bit even in real money. Solar PV is pretty expensive, still not even close in cost to other power production methods. So I’m wondering what the economics are in this project. There must be some pretty sweet government incentives to invest so much.

You know, I was going to tour that plant. I asked my brother-in-law to arrange it – he’s a highly placed director at PEA. He said sure, but it’s just a big field of solar panels, pretty boring to look at. There is no visitor center with flashing lights or fancy displays. Oh, well, I guess I won’t bother him with it in that case.

Leave a Reply

